Monday, September 29, 2014

New Novel from the Walking Dead Series

As some of you might be aware, Robert Kirkman authorized a series of novels that follow the Governor, Phillip Blake, from the onset of the apocalypse until his fall at the hands of Rick and his crew.  Each is set in the comic book version of the series, and as such they don't match up well with the version we see on the TV screen.

Written in partnership by Kirkman and Jay Bonansinga, the first few novels were great, and introduced us to new characters and corners of the area around Atlanta.  The first book introduces us to Tara, April, and David Chalmers, the inspiration for the TV series characters of Tara, Lilly, and David Chambler.

The books, in order, were:
  • The Rise of the Governor
  • The Road to Woodbury
  • The Fall of the Governor, Book 1
  • The Fall of the Governor, Book 2
The series is being given its 5th novel, Descent, which will follow Lilly Caul as she rebuilds Woodbury after the Governor's fall.

Having already read the 1st 3 books, I was impressed, and look forward to reading the forth novel, along with this newest one.

Robert Kirkman's The Walking Dead: Descent

Fans of the Walking Dead might also enjoy the zombie apocalypse novel Finding a Safe-Haven, available at Amazon or Barnes and Noble.

No comments: